Special Occasion or Special Someone?

What makes us like one type of food more than another? Why do we even have such things as special occasion foods? Why make our favorite type of foods only at holidays or birthdays? Is it because we don’t have enough time? Do we not care that much about what we eat and feed our families? Or do we care so much that we save the good meals for special occasions to keep them special? I have to fault that last line of thought. That just seems like pure laziness wrapped in a pretty excuse.

My initial guess is because we don’t have the time. Let’s be real—many of us are full-time employed and take care of the family and home. If you’re reading this, you probably also take care of the food too. Don’t get me wrong; I love knowing my husband is well-loved by me because I take care of him and am diligent to take care of what we have. Yet, sometimes I can feel overwhelmed by the necessity of cooking or planning the meals to cook, and I actually love to cook. This was not originally why I started meal planning but it is why I’ve continued to plan my meals at least one week in advanced.
I hate food ruts, week night routines, limited options, and a lack of creativity in our meals. Those things will get all of me down, like I won’t even want to cook if limited like that. Food’s an expression of my emotions and mood. So, I guess you could say, tonight I want to love my husband an extra lot because I’m still thinking of our conversation from lunch. Btw, I’m finally getting full circle with the special occasion meals idea I started above—yay!
Our conversation wasn’t really life changing or altering. He just said, “I really like these meatballs,” and he must’ve meant it because we had a party Saturday and have been eating the leftovers ever since. I was surprised that he’d still compliment them because usually by this time he’s asking me not to make the dish again for a long time because he’s sick of the leftovers. However, today, he liked them. I knew he liked meatballs before, he’s told me, but I rarely make them. Honestly, I generally just don’t think of them because we hardly ever have pasta now and when I do make pasta it’s because I want a quick meal, and meatballs from scratch aren’t quick. But his comment got me thinking.
I told him I’d make meatballs more often, yes they take a lot of time but it’s possible to make small batches, roll them in advanced, or make and freeze them. Moreover, it’s really not just the meatball that I’m thinking about but the entire concept of foods he likes, or I like, that I know of and have the ability to make more often, not just for a special occasion. I’ve read before that our realities are what we choose to make and it’s a slow, every day decision that will allow us to be what we dream of years from now. A few years from now I’d like to be able to make a special occasion type of meal once or twice a month, just for us, not because of a party or special event, simply because I want to show him I care and take care of myself as well.
Whether you cook for your family with kids, your spouse, or for yourself, I think it’s nice to show you care through a simple common place act like a favorite meal for no other reason than to say, “I love you on a Monday, too.” If you made it to the end of this post, comment with your favorite meals and how you say I love you in the kitchen.

Next morning update: After I finished writing this I went to talk to my husband about the post around 8:40 pm and he said, “Well, want to make me a salad then?” and I flatly refused because I watched him make and eat popcorn for dinner when I offered to make him something at 6:00 pm. Oops, with the loving but welcome to a totally honest blog!

Leave a comment